Welcome to the Jungle (2012)

Welcome To the Jungle is a performance/installation inspired by the potential implications of the ecological term global weirding. A vast labyrinth of mirror foil evokes a fragile and sensual ecosystem in which the smallest shifts of light, movement or smell trigger uncontrollable changes. Rain mist clouds, temperature fluctuations, wind and vibrations immerse the participant in an immaterial yet sensorial jungle. The only way out is a search through a space where there is too much, and at the same time, nothing at all, where everything is visible and nothing reliable.

The jungle of mirror foil, a set designed in collaboration with visual artist Erki De Vries, balances continuously on a fluid border between what appears to be a reflective surface, an open space, or a transparent barrier. This poetical space evokes an environment which has become itself weird, confused, and paradoxical- an atmosphere which no longer adheres to the normal laws of nature and the navigational compasses that we rely on in our everyday lives. Smells designed by perfumer Laurent-David Garnier, curtains of mists, wind, soundscapes and vibration are used to immerse the audience in this condition of continuous transition. Costumes bodies add to the confusion in this mirror hall- between who is in and who is out, between bodies and their reflections, between an ecosystem in decomposition and the genesis of a strange, new habitat.

Past Dates

October 2013

Vooruit (Gent)
Vooruit (Gent)
Vooruit (Gent)

July 2013

Gessnerallee (Zürich)
Gessnerallee (Zürich)

March 2013

Kaaitheater (Brussel)
Kaaitheater (Brussel)

December 2012

BUDA (Kortrijk)
PACT Zollverein (Essen)
PACT Zollverein (Essen)

November 2012

Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam)
Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam)
DeSingel (Antwerpen)
DeSingel (Antwerpen)
BUDA (Kortrijk)


Concept & choreography: Andros Zins-BrowneSet design: Erki De Vries, Andros Zins-BrownSound design: Peter Lenaerts
Perfume design: Laurent-David GarnierLight design: Hans MeijerProduction management: Tiziana PennaArtistic assistance: Sidney Leoni, Femke GyselinckTechnical direction: Vincent MalstafTechnician: Kristof Vande WallePerformance: Isah De Zutter, Vik Van den Broeck, Camille Vermeire, René Wynants, Lynn Smeuninx, Mona Staut, Hendrik De Boeck, Rein Lootvoet, Gijs van Ammers, Freek Hannes, Misha Demoustier, Marie Van KuyckAdditional assistance: Danaë BosmanProduction: wpZimmer (Antwerp)
Co-production: co-production: Jan Van Eyck Academy (Maastricht), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Kaaitheater (Brussels), Vooruit (Ghent) supported by Départs/European Commission (Culture program), Buda (Kortrijk), deSingel (Antwerp)Supported by: The Flemish GovernmentAdditional support by: Netwerk (Aalst), Het Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), Departs & the Culture Program of the European Commission


Preview: De Morgen
Interview: STEPP
Essay: Marnix Rummens
Essay: Anna-Carolin Weber
Essay: Marialena Marouda